for tomorrow



The Democratic Alliance Student Organisation (DASO) at Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University has won the 2015 student governance elections for the second consecutive year.

DASO won seven of the central portfolio seats, the South African Student Congress (SASCO) five and the Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) a single seat, according to the results announced early today by the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC).

In addition, DASO won all eight seats in the Oppidani Council, the seat for the International Office for Education as well as four of the university’s seven faculty seats. SASCO representatives were elected to the other three faculties.

The 6942 votes cast by students represents 34.7% voter turnout of the NMMU student body. This is an increase of than 4% on last year’s election, and a 12% increase since the 2013 election.

NMMU Acting Dean Mxolisi Ncapayi said the elections were well run and he was thankful to all involved.

“Thanks must go to the student organisations who conducted themselves with dignity before, during and after the elections,” he said.

His words were mirrored by NMMU Protection Services Head Derek Huebsch who reported no incidents during yesterday’s election and the period leading up to voting.

“Students were able to exercise their rights with the necessary vigor and there no incidents. This is special for us,” he said.

According to Mr Ncapyai if no objections are received within 24 hours after the announcement of the results, the results will be certified.

He further thanks the following departments for their support:

  • Office of the Acting Dean of Students for the overall support
  • ICT for the infrastructural support.
  • Protection Services for the efficient security deployment and support
  • Reprographics Department for the printing of ballot papers
  • SRC for the financial support