for tomorrow



Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University (NMMU) inaugurated its first female Student Representative Council (SRC) President this week. 

The SRC President, Hlomela Bucwa, a fourth-year Law student at NMMU and thirteen members of the council were sworn into their positions.

In the absence of the Vice-Chancellor, Prof Derrick Swartz, Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Institutional Support, Dr Sibongile Muthwa (centre of photo) addressed the SRC and guests and highlighted how happy she was that the new SRC President is a woman.

“It is symbolic that in 2015, a woman is chosen to lead. We are still far from being an equal society. If we look at Africa as a continent, women in general are not positioned to lead,” said Dr Muthwa.

The election of the first female president comes ten years after the university’s conception in 2005, when the merger of the University of Port Elizabeth (UPE), PE Technikon and Vista University’s Port Elizabeth campus saw the birth of NMMU.

In her augural address, the newly-inducted president highlighted how privileged she felt to be the one who could “turn the pages of transformation in South Africa”.

“We look to be a dynamic and transformational SRC that represents the best interests of the students,” said Hlomela in outlining the SRC’s mission and vision for the year.

The eloquent speaker also expressed her disdain at the handling of the National Student Financial Aid Scheme (NSFAS) by the university and lamented seeing academically-deserving students being sent home because they cannot afford tuition.

“This is not in line with the university’s humanising pedagogy in the classroom,” she said adding, however, that the SRC favoured an integrated approach which would see them work with university management.

This meant the SRC would, for example, also seek policy reform by influencing policies that are in the best interests of students.

For a full transcript of Hlomela’s speech go to

The list of SRC members is as follows:

Hlomela Bucwa


Thanduxolo Bhengu

Deputy President

Baxolile Nodada

Secretary General

Naledi/Surprice Swanepoel

Deputy Secretary General

Zolani Ndzungu

Treasurer General

Zawo Kalimashe

Societies Officer

Anele Zondi

Accommodations and Catering Officer


International Officer

Yondela Nojozi

Culture Officer

Thandeka Tshabalala

Community Development

Mr Ziyanda Sibeko

Public Relations Officer

Xolisa Manzana

Transformation, Gender & Special Needs

Rowan Sampson

Sport Officer

Adonisi Shikwamba

Oppidani Officer

Xabiso Nicholas Nyati

Academic Officer

Vuyo Mtshengu

Safety, Health & Environment

Milisa Mbotya

Site Rep: Missionvale Campus

Siqhamosihle Skhosana

Site Rep: North Campus

Yandisa Lubabalo Ndzoyiya

Site Rep: 2nd Avenue