for tomorrow



Nelson Mandela Bay Business Chamber Chief Executive Officer, Kevin Hustler, will receive an Alumni Special Award at the annual Alumni Awards function on Friday, 30 October 2015.

As a BSc Quantity Surveying graduate, Hustler has enjoyed a very diverse career. His former positions include Head of Linkage Programmes for Rift Valley Railways (in Kenya), shareholder in a major real estate franchise and Managing Director of Business against Crime Eastern Cape during which time he received the 2002 IMM Eastern Cape Marketer of the Year Award, as well as the Eastern Cape Entrepreneur of the Year Award. He is also a former Operations Manager for SPAR Eastern Cape and won the SPAR Group Retail Operations Manager of the Year Award in 1995.

Kevin has been CEO of the Nelson Mandela Bay Business Chamber since 2009. The Chamber represents approximately 800 volunteer member companies, who between them employ about 60 000 staff members working within the Nelson Mandela Bay region.

In 2011, Hustler received the Professional Management Review (PMR) Africa Diamond Arrow Leaders and Achievers Award for outstanding service and contribution to economic growth in the Eastern Cape, and in 2012, the PMR Africa Gold Arrow Leaders and Achievers Award.

As head of the Business Chamber, Hustler is determined to advance socio-economic change in Nelson Mandela Bay and create an enabling environment where businesses can prosper.

Another Special Award recipient is Michelle Brown whose name is synonymous with public relations, not only in the metro but in South Africa. She has had an illustrious career, which has seen her travel the globe and work with the rich and famous. She founded her company, Brown’s PR, 27 years ago and has taken it from strength to strength.

The PR Diploma graduate, who was the Bay’s Media Officer during the 2010 Fifa World Cup, coordinated “The Royal Dinner”, attended by Prince Edward and Sophie of Wessex, worked with event guru Colin Cowie at an Oprah Winfrey function in the United States and organised breakfasts with sporting legends like Sir Viv Richards, Jake White, Francois Pienaar, Joel Stransky, Kobus Wiese and Gary Bailey. She has put together corporate lunches and book launches with Raymond Ackerman, David Bullard, Lucas Radebe and Pieter-Dirk Uys and run PR campaigns for the Marc Lottering Show, the Moscow Circus, the St Petersburg Russian Ballet Theatre and the Raymond Mhlaba Trust, to name a few.

She has provided sponsorship advice and alignment for major events, and has run beauty pageants such as Miss Port Elizabeth and Diwali Queen.

She was the first female president of the Rotary Club of Algoa Bay and the first woman on the Board of Governors at Grey High School. She owns Fashion Unlimited Modelling Agency and has been the Businesswomen’s Association (BWA) Chair in Port Elizabeth for the last three years.

The third Special Award recipient is Provincial General Manager of the SABC (Eastern Cape) Zola Yeye. Yeye, who holds a Master’s degree in Political Science, is known for many roles, ranging from rugby legend and sporting icon to award-winning journalist, marketing expert and philanthropist.

His previous positions with the SABC include being National Assignment Editor (Johannesburg) and Regional News Editor for TV and Radio (Eastern Cape).  He was the Executive Producer of Newshour, and was news anchor during the country’s general elections in1994 and 1999.

His sporting highlights include being awarded Rugby Springbok colours in 2000 and serving as the Springbok Manager in 2007 when the Boks won the Rugby World Cup.

”Yeye has received a string of sporting awards. The EP Sport Council honoured him for “Contribution in Non-Racial Sport” while the Minister of Sports & Recreation honoured him for “Contribution in Sports during Apartheid years”. In 2007, he won the sports category in the Herald Citizen of the Year event.

Yeye was awarded fellowships from the British Council (United Kingdom) and the Poynter Institute for Media Studies (Florida, United States) and he was an intern at one of the world’s biggest TV news stations CNN (United States).

The NMMU Alumni Association introduced the Alumni Awards in 2010 and since their establishment, 22 Alumni Achievers and 17 Rising Stars have been celebrated through a nomination and selection process. The Alumni Association has also given recognition to nine individuals in the form of Special Awards.

This year Rising Star Awards will be presented to Business Day editor-in-chief Songezo Zibi and Gugu Nxiweni, Prof Lennox Nkqubela Ruxwana, Ruan Viljoen and sport personality Zanele Mdodana.

Alumni Achiever Awards will be presented to Andrew Hannington - CEO of one of the largest accounting firms in South Africa, Grant Thornton, Nicholas Graham - Global Director of Digital Marketing for Huawei Technologies and Paddy Upton - Head Coach to two international cricket teams (the Rajasthan Royals, in the Indian Premier League, and Sydney Thunder, in the Australian Big Bash League).

Kevin Hustler

Michelle Brown

Zola Yeye

Contact information
Ms Roslyn Baatjies
Media Liaison Practitioner
Tel: 041-5042777